Oath taking ceremony of newly elected office Bearers of the Society of Surgeons was organized at KEMU

Oath Taking Ceremony of newly elected Office Bearers of the Society of Surgeons Pakistan Lahore was organized at King Edward Medical University Lahore. The chief guest was Professor Zafarullah Chaudhry, former president of the College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan. While caretaker provincial health minister Prof. Javed Akram, President College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan Prof. Khalid Masood Gondal, Prof AbdulMajid Chaudhry and Prof. Aamir Zaman Khan attended as special guests.

Vice Chancellor Professor Mahmood Ayyaz welcomed the distinguished guests and thanked them for their participation in the event. Prof. Mukhtar Hasan Randhawa, Prof. Khalid Ashrafi, Prof. Asghar Naqi, COO, Prof. Faisal Masood, Prof. Ashraf Nizami, Prof. Abrar Ashraf Ali, Prof Ayesha Shaukat, Prof Javaid Athar and huge number of Surgeons of Punjab were also present. Speaking at the event, Professor Javed Akram paid tribute to the services of the Society of Surgeons and said that the society will continue to play its role for the betterment of surgeons. He said that surgery has an important role in the field of medicine.The department of medicine is incomplete without it. He said that Professor Zafarullah Chaudhry and Professor Abdul Majeed Chaudhry are among my teachers and I have learnt a lot from them. I congratulate all office barriers. King Edward Medical University is like home to me. I always say that life is about making memories and this evening will be memorable too.

Former President CPSP Prof. Zafarullah Chaudhry while addressing the ceremony said that I congratulate the outgoing office bearers for their excellent services to the society and wish the newly elected office bearers good wishes. I hope that the new Council will perform its duties with great diligence and dedication and will raise the profile of the Society. Prof. Abdul Majeed Chaudhry highlighted the services of the society. He said that the members of the Society of Surgeons do not need any introduction, their work and performance is their real name and identity.

President College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan, VC Prof. Khalid Masood Gondal said that after the completion of the election process, all our members are standing in a row. There is no match of the vision and action plan of Professor Waris Farooka as the president of the society. He further said that the position we are all in today is because of our teacher Prof. Zafarullah Chaudhry. He said that the name and position of Prof. Mahmood Ayyaz in robotic surgery is also due to Prof. Zafarullah Chaudhry, his students and patients continue to give charity for him in this world and in the hereafter.

President Society of Surgeons Lahore Professor Waris Farooka said that it is a matter of pride for me to be a part of this great society. I am grateful to all the people who voted and supported us and elected us. In the future, we will carry all the members together, meet the expectations of the profession in the newly elected positions of the society, strengthen the society with new attitudes with new technologies, new experiences, domestic and foreign mutual cooperation, In the field of surgery, they will create a prominent position in the service of the country and the nation. He said that medical education and research will be made public at the district and tehsil levels. He further said that Robotic surgery and advanced treatment methods will expand, training workshops and seminars will be organized to enhance the skills of the trainee doctors.

Former President of the Society of Surgeons Prof. Syed Asghar Naqi congratulated the newly elected officers on assuming office and expressed good wishes for the future. He highlighted his council members and their performance. He also appreciated the patronage and guidance of Vice Chancellor Professor Mahmood Ayyaz.
Vice-Chancellor Professor Mahmood Ayyaz in his address said that today is a very happy and important day for me, in which my respected teacher Professor Zafarullah Chaudhry and Professor Javed Akram are present.

Where we are today is all thanks to our teachers. There was a time when the heads of 7 medical institutions of Punjab were students of Prof. Zafarullah Chaudhry, while the vice chancellors of three medical universities of Punjab and 2 health ministers were also his students. He further said.He further said that I would request all youngsters to work for their field and community through modern education, modern medical skills and devote themselves to the service of ailing humanity.
Chief Election Commissioner Society of Surgeons Lahore Professor Aamir Zaman Khan Highlighting the election process and vote casting including registered members. He congratulated the newly elected officials.

Chief Election Commissioner Society of Surgeons Prof. Aamir Zaman Khan administered the oath to the newly elected members, including Prof. Muhammad Waris Farooka as President of Society of Surgeons Pakistan Lahore Chapter, while other officials including Vice President Prof. Qamar Ashfaq Ahmed, General Secretary Dr. Muhammad Shahid Farooq, Finance Secretary Dr. Salman Majeed Chaudhry, Publication Secretary Dr. Muhammad Amir Sohail, Joint Secretary Dr. Maila Altaf and Executive Member Prof. Ahmed Uzair Qureshi, Prof. Muhammad Farooq Afzal, Prof. Tayyab Abbas, Prof. Kamran Khalid Khawaja, Prof. Imran Aslam, Prof. Faisal Masood, Prof. Ajmal Farooq, Prof. Chaudhry Muhammad Kamran, Prof. Yar Mohammad, Prof. Abdul Hameed, Prof. Khizr Hayat Gondal, Prof. Nabila Talat, Prof. Abul Fazl Ali Khan, Prof. Farooq Ahmed Rana, Prof. Syed Asghar Naqi and Dr. Muhammad Umar Waraich and others are included.

General Secretary Society of Surgeons Pakistan Dr. Shahid Farooq Qazi thanked all the participants.