Accident & Emergency Department

Prof. Dr. Yar Muhammad
HOD Accident & Emergency

Prof. Dr. Yar Muhammad


          Accident & Emergency Department is by far the busiest in Mayo Hospital Lahore which is the largest hospital of the country. The department was shifted to the current building in year 1984-85. Previously it was located at the site of present surgical Tower. In 2018 A&E Department was elevated and designated as teaching unit of King Edward Medical University with the appointment of professor, associate professors, assistant professors and senior registrars. Accident & Emergency comprises of dedicated teaching faculty with 5 divisions namely Surgery, Medicine, Paediatric Medicine, Paediatric Surgery and Orthopedics Surgery. With this the patient care has greatly improved and new learning environment has ensued.

          The Emergency Medicine training programs of FCPS and MD have started in shortest possible time after inception of the department. The program has been accredited by College of Physicians and Surgeons of Pakistan. By taking initiative to make the accident and emergency as a separate department as teaching in postgraduate training, King Edward Medical University has again taken the lead and became the first institute in public sector. The university plans to start postgraduate programs in trauma surgery and critical care in the future. The main goal of the department is excellent service delivery for patient care and teaching of the postgraduate trainees. The whole effort is directed to raise the patient treatment standards to international level. There are lots of opportunities for carrier building and serving the most ailing humanity in this specialty in the country and abroad.

List of Faculty Members
NAME Designation Qualification
Prof. Dr. Yar Muhammad Professor / Head of Department FCPS, MRCS, FACS
Dr. Waseem Sadiq Awan Associate Professor (Surgery) FCPS, FACS
Dr. Azhar Bashir Associate Professor (Surgery) FCPS
Dr. Farrukh Hassan Rizvi Assistant Professor (Surgery) FCPS
Dr. Muhammad Zafar Mengal Assistant Professor (Surgery) MS
Dr. Suhail Niaz Khan Niazi Assistant Professor (Orthopedics) FCPS, MRCS, PhD Scholar
Dr. Muhammad Kashif Naseer Assistant Professor (Orthopedics) MS
Dr. Muhammad Sohail Iqbal Qamar Assistant Professor (Orthopedics) FCPS
Dr. Muhammad Naeem Safdar Chap Assistant Professor (Medicine) FCPS
Dr. Sadia Asif Assistant Professor (Medicine) FCPS
Dr. Hafiz Muhammad Sajid Jahangir Assistant Professor (Medicine) FCPS
Dr. Malik Abid Ali Assistant Professor (Paediatrics) FCPS
Dr. Tehmina Maqbool Assistant Professor (Paediatrics) FCPS
Dr. Muhammad Shehbaz Ashraf Senior Registrar (Medicine) MRCP
Dr. Faisal Masood Senior Registrar (Medicine) FCPS
Dr. Muhammad Tasneem Sulehri Senior Registrar (Orthopedics) MS
Dr. Zunaira Shabbir Senior Registrar (Radiology) FCPS